Thursday, March 31, 2011

Trent Whitfield Wins AHL Award

Named Team's 2010-11 IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year
March 28, 2011

The Providence Bruins, in their 19th season in the American Hockey League, today announced that Trent Whitfield has been named the team's winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Providence community during the 2010-11 season.

While recovering from an offseason Achilles injury that kept the Providence veteran out half the season, the 13th year Whitfield was always the first to volunteer his time in order to stay involved. The alternate captain frequently visited schools to talk to children and also appeared at several other local Rhode Island community events.

At the arena, he participated in Toys for Tots and Rhode Island Food Bank collections on the concourse prior to games while injured. Now healthy, Whitfield often signs autographs for youth hockey groups prior to his own games.

Whitfield is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL's 2010-11 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia.

The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the AHL in the coming weeks.

*Information gathered from

No comments:

Post a Comment