Sunday, July 18, 2010

Providence Schedule Format Determined

July 13, 2010

Providence, RI - The American Hockey League today announced its schedule format for the 2010-11 season. The Providence Bruins will play their current Atlantic Division rivals from the Eastern Conference and will make a trip out to Abbotsford and to Charlotte to face the newly added Checkers. All told, the 2010-11 competition for the P-Bruins features 12 different opponents, nine of which made the postseason in 2009-10.

While the schedule will not be announced until late in the summer, the P-Bruins' schedule format is as follows. In Atlantic Division competition, Providence will face all six teams, including the Bridgeport Sound Tigers, Hartford Wolf Pack, Manchester Monarchs, Portland Pirates, Springfield Falcons and the Worcester Sharks. In the East Division, the P-Bruins will battle the Albany Devils, Binghamton Senators, Charlotte Checkers, Hershey Bears, and Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins. In the Western Conference, the P-Bruins take on the Abbotsford Heat.

A complete breakdown of the P-Bruins' opponents and how many times they will face each other are as follows:

Bridgeport Sound Tigers (New York Islanders) - 5 H, 5 A
Hartford Wolf Pack (New York Rangers) - 5 H, 5 A
Manchester Monarchs (Los Angeles) - 5 H, 5 A
Portland Pirates (Buffalo) - 6 H, 6 A
Springfield Falcons (Columbus) - 5 H, 5 A
Worcester Sharks (San Jose) - 6 H, 6 A

Albany Devils (New Jersey) - 1 H, 1 A
Binghamton Senators (Ottawa) - 1 H, 1 A
Charlotte Checkers (Carolina) - 2 H, 2 A
Hershey Bears (Washington) - 1 H, 1 A
Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins (Pittsburgh) - 1 H, 1 A

Abbotsford Heat (Calgary) - 2 H, 2 A

The AHL will continue to feature two conferences, now encompassing two seven-team divisions and two eight-club divisions. Two new teams are joining the AHL this upcoming season, including the Oklahoma City Barons and Charlotte giving the league a total of 30 clubs vying for the 2011 Calder Cup.

*Information gathered from

No comments:

Post a Comment